More Sony (Again), this time in 8K! (UPDATE: CALLED THE F65)

So I saw this link earlier today

http://www.fdtimes.com/news/sony/new-sony-camera-4k-and-beyond/

Should at least be interesting to see what happens at NAB this year. Sony is trying to bring competition to RED and RED is bringing a surprise of their own, so we’re told. Wish I could make it out. It’s about a 1 month and 1 week away though, so, I think I can hold it 🙂

This sony camera brings a point though: You see where sony’s strategy and strongsuit lies: diversity.

They have time, money, manufacturing power galore, and great product. But with this great product comes some crazy high prices and things like this recent “firmware upgrade” that cost users $3,500. All RED firmware upgrade is free. And so are a lot of other firmwares. So, will this thing be cool? Probably. But, you’ve gotta ask, cool at what cost?

Again, i think Epic is gonna blow people away and sustain until they get out their next line of cameras in the Monstro-sensor family. I might as well spend less, get a non-competing camera now, and then with the money I’m able to raise from it (and save from it too), I’ll be able to (hopefully) afford the new RED, instead of spending thousands on “firmware.” 🙂

If you really want to know why people still bother buying Sony stuff and other cameras, read my last post, .

Hope you all are doing well, hope to pick things up here soon.

Brennan

Leave a comment