RED’s Roadmap

Aside from the recent post on Epic-X’s being produced and shipped, I’ve been rather silent on the Camera/Tech front. I guess the season waned but it seems to be waxing in eloquence yet again with some new and exciting things on the horizon. I could tell you about Sony’s new 4k projector, i could tell you also about the developments on their new F65 camera; heck i could even go on about Arri’s new additions to their Alexa. But, it would all seem to pale a bit in what seems to be a tidal wave of exciting, revolutionary products on the way out the door from RED.

Those of you who read the site and are Arri fans, I do understand. I’m an Arri fan. I love the look and feel of native footage coming from the Alexa, perhaps even more than the Epic. However without the RAW/Redcode/Redcine-X Pro combination, the 5k resolution, or the 18-stop HDRx dynamic range with frame rates to be considered the closest relative to the Phantom camera (well, maybe not quite that close), I just don’t see how the Alexa is a better camera. With the RAW footage from the Red and all the aforementioned factors there’s really no reason i shouldn’t be able to produce any kind of image or look that i want. The I like the Alexa, I’m limited to the Alexa’s bounds. I don’t care for this. BUUUUTTT ANYway.

With Epic-X’s starting to ship, suspicions of new tech from the RED guys are starting to surface, and apparently rightfully so. Jim Jannard, alongside a philosophy change of “we’ll tell you about it when it’s ready,” had now started hinting more than revealing with RED’s roadmap, and it looks to be insanely exciting. When the RED guys get excited about something, I get excited about it, and so should you

Brennan

One thought on “RED’s Roadmap

  1. Pingback: Red roadmap…(announcement?) Scarlet, RedRay, Dragon update, plus Surprises! | ASPECT:RATIOS NEWS

Leave a comment